Monday, February 14, 2011

PFUJ election schedule announced

PFUJ election schedule announced

ISLAMABAD, Feb 13 (APP): Polls to elect 17 members of the Federal Executive Council of the Pakistan Federal Union of Journalists (PFUJ) and for one post of president, two vice presidents, one Secretary General, two Assistant Secretaries General and one Treasurer would be held in Islamabad on March 27 in which delegates elected from all over Pakistan would cast their votes.

In an announcement made by Secretary General of the PFUJ Shamsul Islam Naz here on Sunday, it was stated that in line with the decisions of the Federal Executive Council Meeting held on Jan 23, 2011, at Islamabad and in terms of Article VI (DELEGATES MEETING) of the constitution of the PFUJ, the following schedule has been drawn up.

The entire election exercise and schedule would be conducted and processed by a four-member Election Committee headed by Nasir Zaidi, Chairman,(03455071054), while the members are Abid Hussain Abid (0345-5223457), Iqbal Jaffary, (0322-5129287), Salim Khilji, (0322-5197891), and Nisar Hussain (0333-4332692).

According to the schedule, nomination papers shall be received between Feb 19 and March 4, till 24:00 hours (midnight); List of nominees shall be sent to general secretaries of affiliated unions on the midnight of March 4, after the receipt of nomination papers; Scrutiny of nomination papers shall be completed from March 5 to March 10.

The list of nominees after scrutiny shall be sent to general secretaries of UJs on March 10 ; representations against the decisions of the Election Committee shall be received by the Chairman of the said committee up to six days after the completion of scrutiny and final decisions thereon shall be released to the Press not later than eights days after the completion of the scrutiny.

Decisions (if any) on the representations against the EC decisions between March 11 and March 16, ; provisional list of candidates shall be announced on March 18, at midnight; withdrawal of nomination papers shall be valid until 24:00 hours of the first day of the session of the BDM on March 25.

Final list of the candidates shall be announced in the morning of March 26 , following withdrawals and polling would be held at National Press Club, Islamabad on March 29 from 10.00 A.M. to 4.00 A.M., the results would also be made after counting on the same day.

The nomination papers can be delivered to the Chairman, E.C. Nasir Zaidi either in person or by Registered Post/TCS or by fax on 051-2870221.

A camp office of the Election Committee has also been set up at PFUJ secretariat situated at F-6/a 12-Nazimud din Road, Islamabad, the statement added.

No comments:

Post a Comment